Reply To: Biden will visit Crystal Lake this Wednesday

Welcome to Sky Soaring Forums General Discussion Biden will visit Crystal Lake this Wednesday Reply To: Biden will visit Crystal Lake this Wednesday

#10788
Don GrilloDon Grillo
Keymaster

As mentioned, President Biden will be visiting Crystal Lake on Wednesday, July 7, 2021. The FAA has issued a TFR (Temporary Flight Restriction) for this visit. For our students, who may not know what a TFR is and how we as pilots must adhere to that restriction here is a brief synopses.

A Temporary Flight Restriction (TFR) is a type of Notices to Airmen (NOTAM). A TFR defines an area restricted to air travel due to a hazardous condition, a special event, or a general warning for the entire FAA airspace. The text of the actual TFR contains the fine points of the restriction.

Here is a map of the TFR for Wednesday. A TFR also has specific times that they are active and is delineated in the text.

TFR for July 7

Below is the actual text that the FAA has issued for the TFR. Note that their are 6 areas (A-F) and times covered in this TFR.

For your exercise today, see if you can find Sky Soaring on the map and what Areas and Times it effects us?

Area A
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the NORTHBROOK VOR/DME (OBK) 174 degree radial at 15.3 nautical miles. (Latitude: 41º58’08″N, Longitude: 87º54’04″W)
Radius: 30 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From July 07, 2021 at 1530 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1030 CDT)
To July 07, 2021 at 1700 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1200 CDT)
Area B
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the NORTHBROOK VOR/DME (OBK) 174 degree radial at 15.3 nautical miles. (Latitude: 41º58’08″N, Longitude: 87º54’04″W)
Radius: 10 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From July 07, 2021 at 1530 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1030 CDT)
To July 07, 2021 at 1700 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1200 CDT)
Area C
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the NORTHBROOK VOR/DME (OBK) 279 degree radial at 18.9 nautical miles. (Latitude: 42º15’36″N, Longitude: 88º22’19″W)
Radius: 30 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From July 07, 2021 at 1615 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1115 CDT)
To July 07, 2021 at 2030 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1530 CDT)
Area D
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the NORTHBROOK VOR/DME (OBK) 279 degree radial at 18.9 nautical miles. (Latitude: 42º15’36″N, Longitude: 88º22’19″W)
Radius: 10 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From July 07, 2021 at 1615 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1115 CDT)
To July 07, 2021 at 2030 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1530 CDT)
Area E
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the NORTHBROOK VOR/DME (OBK) 174 degree radial at 15.3 nautical miles. (Latitude: 41º58’08″N, Longitude: 87º54’04″W)
Radius: 30 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From July 07, 2021 at 1945 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1445 CDT)
To July 07, 2021 at 2145 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1645 CDT)
Area F
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the NORTHBROOK VOR/DME (OBK) 174 degree radial at 15.3 nautical miles. (Latitude: 41º58’08″N, Longitude: 87º54’04″W)
Radius: 10 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From July 07, 2021 at 1945 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1445 CDT)
To July 07, 2021 at 2145 UTC (July 07, 2021 at 1645 CDT)