Reply To: SSI Membership Meeting Sat Jan 16 10AM

Welcome to Sky Soaring Forums Restricted content SSI Membership Meeting Sat Jan 16 10AM Reply To: SSI Membership Meeting Sat Jan 16 10AM

Steven SnyderSteven Snyder
Participant

To the members of Sky Soaring

Sorry I was not able to attend the club meeting. I look forward to reading the recap when it’s available.

As expected the winch was a popular topic although not the only nor the most important one. Also, the financial state of the club is a high priority, in particular preparing for the Pawnee engine overhaul and the financing of the Share Buyback program. These will be dealt with this coming Fall but at this time we are well on our way to reaching the overhaul fund goal of $33,000.00. Please consider donating to the fund if you are able to including becoming a Patron Member.

As for the winch, here are my thoughts.

1. As a pilot, I enjoy it. I spent my time and money to travel out of state to receive my endorsement so I would see how winching is done elsewhere. I look forward to Spring when the thermals are booming and we can get away from the field on a 1k foot launch.
    2. As an instructor, I see the value of a pilot rated or not learning how to expect and react to low level situations including but not limited to premature releases. With the confidence to know what to do the successful recovery is much easier to accomplish.